Drum Breaks 02/02/21

On the Drums…
2 min readFeb 8, 2021

Teenage Fanclub’s new album, Endless Arcade, will be out on April 30 via Merge Records. It’s their first since 2016’s Here. Multi-instrumentalist and composer FRANCIS MACDONALD, who cofounded the influential Scottish band in 1989 and appeared on their debut album, A Catholic Education, returned to the fold in 2000 after a ten-year absence, and is again in the drum seat. The tracks “Everything Is Falling Apart,” “Home,” and “I’m More Inclined” are streaming now.

Jazz bassist Leon Lee Dorsey has released Thank You, Mr. Mabern! a collaboration with and tribute to piano player Harold Mabern, who passed two months after playing on the recording. The great MIKE CLARK (Headhunters, Wolf & Clark Expedition, Eddie Henderson, Brand X) is on the album, which is is out now on Dorsey’s Jazz Avenue label.

Popular British singer-songwriter Ben Howard’s “Crowhurst’s Meme,” featuring YUSSEF DAYES (Yussef Williams, Kamasi Washington), is streaming now. The track precedes Howard’s Collections From the Whiteout album, out this coming March 26 on Republic Records.

Saxophonist Randal Despommier’s Dio C’é, featuring Chilean drummer RODRIGO RECABARREN (Beekman, Peregrinos, Mural, Rotem Sivan), has just been released by Outside In Music.

Accept have put out their sixteenth studio album, Too Mean to Die, on Nuclear Blast. American drummer CHRISTOPHER WILLIAMS (Gene Simmons, Ace Frehley, Andrew W.K.), who joined the veteran German metal band in 2015, returns on drums.

Vocalist and guitarist Allan Harris is releasing the studio recording Kate’s Soulfood this February 12 on Love Productions Records. On the drums is SHIRAZETTE TINNIN (Allan Harris Group, Tia Fuller Quartet, the Mimi Jones Band, The Meredith Vieira Show).

The English rock duo Royal Blood, featuring BEN THATCHER, are releasing their third album, Typhoons, on April 30 via Warner Records. The title track and “Trouble’s Coming” are streaming now.

On March 12 Whirlwind Recordings is servicing the physical release of AfroFuturism, the fifth studio album from alto saxophonist, composer, and producer Logan Richardson. (It’s available for streaming now.) Drummers RYAN J. LEE (Diverse, Mezzo String) and COREY FONVILLE (Nicholas Payton Trio, Christian Scott Quintet, Butcher Brown) appear on the album.

On February 26, Los Angeles hard rock band Black Sheep Wall, featuring drummer JACKSON THOMPSON, are releasing their first album in five years, Songs for the Enamel Queen, on Silent Pendulum Records. “Concrete God” and the thirteen-plus-minute epic “New Measures of Failure” are streaming now.